Home > Saints > Authors of the Philokalia

Authors of the Philokalia

“The Philokalia is a collection of texts written between the 4th and 15th centuries by spiritual masters of the Eastern Orthodox Church hesychast tradition. They were originally written for the guidance and instruction of monks in the practice of the contemplative life. The collection was compiled in the eighteenth century by Nicodemus the Hagiorite and Macarius of Corinth. Volume [One] includes St. Isaiah the Solitary, Evagrius the Solitary, St. John Cassian, St. Mark the Ascetic, St. Hesychios the Priest, St. Neilos the Ascetic, St. Diadochos of Photiki, St. John of Karpathos and St. Anthony the Great.” [Source]

Quotation graphics


    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop